If you want to avoid searching for “lawyers for drivers license suspension near me,” it’s important to understand your responsibilities as a driver. Here’s what you need to know about the most important road laws for California residents.
Drivers must observe the posted speed limits. Where speed limits are not posted, drivers should follow these guidelines to avoid the need for a speeding ticket lawyer:
- Maximum speed of 65 miles per hour on multi-lane freeways
- Maximum speed of 55 mph on two-lane highways
- Maximum speed of 35 mph on city streets
- Maximum speed of 25 mph in residential areas and school zones
Heavy traffic along California’s highways necessitates a carpool lane, which is limited to vehicles with at least two or sometimes at least three passengers. Failure to observe the carpool lane laws, such as driving in this lane as a solo passengers, results in fines of up to $400 in some congested areas such as Los Angeles.
Red Lights and Stop Signs
Drivers who do not come to a complete stop at a red light or a stop sign may receive fines starting at $35 as well as driver’s license points. A red light camera California can be used to enforce this law. In this case, a ticket would be mailed to your residence.
Drivers in the state can make a right turn on red except where prohibited. Left turns on red are permitted when both streets are one-way.
Driving Under the Influence
As in other states, California enforces harsh penalties for driving under the influence (DUI). In addition to alcohol and other drugs, the state’s DUI laws also apply to cannabis as of 2018. However, unlike the blood alcohol limit of 0.8%, no legal limit has yet been established for cannabis.
When you receive a traffic ticket, you can consult an experienced criminal defense attorney to advocate for your rights. He or she can represent you in court and may be able to negotiate for less stringent penalties.